Meet the ReStore Staff: Alex Nickodem

Name: Alexander (Alex) Nickodem

Job Title: Donations Manager

Hometown: Cleveland, OH

Current Location: Chapel Hill

What was your first job? Chick-fil-A One of my jobs was to put a plastic glove on my hand, wrap my arm in plastic wrap, lay a piece of cardboard on the group, unscrew the drains in the kitchen floor, stick my arm down, and pull up whatever amassed in the drain.

What school(s) did you graduate from? Hawken School ’05 (Gates Mills, OH), Elon University ‘09

How long have you been working at the ReStore? 4. One year at the Greensboro store and three at the Durham/ Orange store.

What do you enjoy most about working at the ReStore? Getting to work with our business donors. I have had to opportunity to go behind the scenes at so many Durham/Orange locations to check out potential donations. It is a lot of fun.

What’s your favorite food? Lentil sloppy joes with dill pickle slices. That or cake. Not too moist with just the right ratio of frosting to cake.

What’s your favorite color? Blue. No yel-- Auuuuuuuugh! Whoever knows that movie quote will know my favorite movie. Really, it is orange. Closer to a burnt orange than a bright orange.

Do you have any pets? Sadly no. From when I was 5 until I was 21, my family had 90 pound giant schnauzer named Frances.

What was your first concert? Either Jimmy Buffett or Alan Jackson. I can’t remember. I have now been to six Jimmy Buffett concerts.

Are you a right-handed or left-handed? Right. However, my wife and I are going to Scotland soon and I am trying to mostly use my left hand in preparation for our rental car where the driver is on the right and has a standard transmission.

Would you go to the mountains or the beach? Mountains. I really need to avoid the sun as much as possible as my skin is highly susceptible to getting skin cancer.

What’s your favorite season? Without a doubt, fall.

What was the last book you read or movie you watched? Sadly, the last movie I watched was Now You See me 2. The last book I read was Eating Animals.

If I’m not at the ReStore, I am most likely cooking, cleaning, grocery shopping, or making my wife coffee as she is in the middle of studying for the law bar which consumes 10 hours of her day 6-7 days a week.